More tips on getting music placed

I have been enjoying the feedback and questions from the previous posts I thought I would elaborate a little more and share a few more thoughts with you. Now before I begin I must say that you may not think what I share is perhaps a tip, but these have been things that have and still do help me out. These thoughts and ideas have come from experience and from certain folks I know in the business who are either A&R people, other Music Supervisors, Composers and if I may GATE KEEPERS Muahahaha!

Now some of this MAY hurt your heart and get you angry, but if you are sick you go to the DR to find out whats wrong. If you are trying to get music placed or make some money in the music biz you are reading this humble attempt at a BLOG. I do NOT have all the answers NO ONE does but here we go…

Ok so you have made some music, you are trying to be FAMOUS, you are trying to share with the world your most incredible song that has ever graced the ears of man….now what do you do? How do you go about trying to get it to the right people? Some of you who read this may have years of experience and this will all seem silly or maybe a review of sorts.

To some this will be strange and you have never heard of these things or even contemplated them. Some of the terminology may seem foreign and strange but if you take the time to learn and read up on  these things they will benefit you in years to come.

How do you explain something that has taken a life time to learn and put into practice with in a few senteces? How does one reveal the truth to someone when they do not want to hear it? Wait a minute what? Yes thats right many people do NOT want to hear what I am saying. You want OTHER people to do all the work for you but you want to reap the rewards of THEIR labor? Yes Mr Anderson this is true. I have seen it time and time again. On one hand there are a group of people who will bust their butts and do what ever they can to try to make it in the busness and then there are those who will go half way and expect the same results. Does not happen.

You have to do your homework no matter what you have to study, force yourself to do things you would not neccessriy do as a musucian such as read, educate yourself. I cannot begin to tell you how many people will email me or call and they have NO clue as to how things work and how this business end works, they think that you make the music place it on itunes, or make a youtube video and people will stop in there tracks. Not that there is anything wrong with not knowing for we are all learning. It is the fact that this is all they think needs to be done. That some one beyond the great expanse will hear them and sign them and their music as in the days of old, or the movies.

Ask yourself a few of these questions, and write them down on paper or on your laptop….

Where do you want to be in a year?

Where do you want to be in 5 yrs?

How do you get there?

Who can help you get there?

Why do you want it?

These are your goals, your blue print for what your trying to do.

Where is music used? EVERYWHERE

Who provides them with that music? How can I get my music to them, or that person?

Why do you write your thoughts and ideas down? If you do not have some form of direction YOU WILL NEVER go anywhere. You have to set out a course a plan. You have to put yourself in the right places at the right times. I believe it was Walt Disney who said  “The way to get started is to quit talking and start doing.”

You need to identify and try to start meeting filmmakers and music supervisors. A few things to try to remember when meeting and establishing ANY new relationships with in this business are as follows;

Composing is primarily a relationship-driven business. If you are not one who likes to work with people you may have trouble working in this field. Not impossible just something to work on. Be seen as a solution NOT a problem.
Be someone who’s easy to do business with and approachable. Do not be arrogant be a little humble. Like with in ANY relationship building, remember to consider others time and thoughts not just YOURS.

Respect their time – when you call, get to the point and always listen. Don’t take anything personally. If someone gives you their thoughts or ideas (like this BLOG) do not trip out just realize that it is just their views. RESPECT, relax, do not stop making music because you got rejected EVERYONE gets rejected.Edison the dude who helped discover the light bulb failed like hundreds of times I think even 206 times!
Always inspire confidence in you and your music. Always remember the unique aspects about you and your music.
Do your homework – learn as much as possible about the person & projects.

I will always share when I can to try to help out everyone. I would humbly ask that if you like this posting and have benefited from it that you write us back share your music with us if you want. I am always looking to network with people of like mind and collaborate so feel free to email. I would also like to ask that you share this with anyone you feel would benefit. It is like we are trying to put into practice what I have been writing about these past few articles. Lets build relationships. ROCK ON!

7 thoughts on “More tips on getting music placed

  1. By the way, I clicked on the songs but nothing happened. It’s possible the problem is on my end. I’ll try again later. 🙂

    • Hey there my friend I do not want to sound silly but were you ever able to open the tracks and listen to some of the music I had posted there? I am just trying to find out if you did and what you may have thought about them. Please visit markallanwolfe.com for more tracks that are there as well as wolfiesmusicpublishing.com cheers

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your success and gracefully helping others to achieve success as well. My band performs for Loren Isreal soon and he is going to listen to our 5 song EP. Everyone says that we have the look and live prowess. We feel that we have a lot to offer the world of music. We WILL NOT give up. Thanks for the inspiring words, and sage advice! Much love and many blessings to you! Also…Rock On!

    • Talon

      Thanks for taking the time to read my postings and respond to my thoughts and cry of my heart to ROCK!!! I am sorry it took me so long to reach back I have been so busy with various projects Anyways I like your music I have heard and seen on this video no b.s I am pleasently surprised. I would like to get to know you guys more and learn more about what your doing who knows perhaps there are things we may accomplish together. feel free to email me and visit my websites and connect with me on other social networks. EMail me at mark@markallanwolfe.com website markallanwolfe.com and wolfiesmusicpublishing.com look forwards to hearing more. Cheers

Leave a Reply

